Nuts!

nutsAn unwelcome guest is staying in my house. Although determined, as best I can, to ignore it, this Annoyance just refuses to leave. It behaves with an air of smug indifference, completely ignoring the fact that I want it to go away!

Now, I am usually able to avoid this Intruder. It does have its own room and by and large keeps to busying itself with books, writing, the internet, a few household tasks. It even has some friends. It does, occasionally, make its bed.

At those times I am able to bear its presence. I regain my dignity and spend my days in quiet resignation. But after weeks of temperance, the Beast just can not contain itself and the onslaught begins. It is for those intrusions that I’ve taken to calling this Interloper the Nasty Nosher of Late Darkness. Because, that’s what it does. It’s mean. It makes me eat. After its dark.  And, when it’s very, very late.

Yens develop; urges for things. Tastes of sweet and salty, buttery and fried, start swirling over my tongue. I’ve got to get up. I land in the kitchen. I paw through cabinets, drawers, pantry and fridge. I pray the tastes I am tasting are not in the larder; that plain yoghurt or a plum will make it all go away.

The Guest has no mercy. I will eat the plum, I will spoon the yoghurt or sometimes I simply, just turn and walk away. Oh, no!

The Guest is still hungry. The Beast must be fed. Back to the kitchen where I find chocolate, sugar, eggs and vanilla; some flour, butter and nuts. Yep. Nuts. Yep, I am so bad. Yep. Nuts to the diet, nuts to good sense. Nuts, nuts, nuts.

There are brownies in the oven, they don’t take too long. The Nosher and I stand and wait by the stove. Brownies are good when they’re warm. Too bad there’s no ice-cream.

My Favorite Brownies

I’ve been making these brownies since I was in the 8th grade. They are a sentimental favorite. For a twist, pour the batter into greased, paper lined mini-muffin tins and bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out with moist crumbs. Dust them with powdered sugar after they cool.

  •  2/3 cup sifted all purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1/3  cup sweet butter
  • 2 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 2 large, room temperature eggs, well beaten
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon real vanilla
  • ½ cup roughly chopped walnuts or pecans

 Method:

Pre-heat oven to 350°. Grease an 8” square pan

  •  Sift dry ingredients together
  • Melt butter and chocolate together
  • Add sugar to eggs and beat until pale yellow and the “ribbon” forms
  • Mix in chocolate butter mixture
  • Mix in vanilla
  • Add dry ingredients and mix just until well blended, do not over mix
  • Fold in nuts

Pour into prepared pan and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out with moist crumbs. Makes about 24 brownies.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Kim said,

    Your blogs are always spot on! We’re too much alike not to be connected, it was fate……..I hope you’re having a great day. Hugs and kisses


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

